Hello blogosphere!

I’m finally back.  And with exciting news.  We tried beef liver tonight.  Yes, we did.  Remember when we ordered that half a beef?  And they asked us if we wanted a liver?  And we said yes (out of curiosity) and then ended up with 4 livers because no one else wanted theirs?  Yes, that beef liver.

All the while we’ve been enjoying the fabulous ground beef, the amazing roasts, the delicious steaks (and man, we hardly ever had steaks growing up so I feel like a queen), I have been dreading the task of using up that liver.  It’s been a tiny little worm in the back of my brain.  And last week, we came across a recipe in the More with Less Cookbook called “My Children Love Liver.”  So I thought to myself, “Deep breath, Mackenzie.  That sounds tasty, doesn’t it?  Let’s finally try that liver.”

The whole time I was cutting the liver (“Man, this is a weird texture, is it supposed to be this bloody?  I guess so.  Weird. I need to remember to bleach my cutting board”), breading the liver (“Definitely going to throw this plastic bag away”), and frying the liver in bacon fat (“Hey!  This smells great!  It smells like bacon and onions!”), I composed a positive blog review in my head.  I really wanted to like liver.  I really wanted to be the exception to the rule.  I wrote the whole darn positive blog post in my head before I even put a piece of liver in my mouth.

I made it three pieces into the pile of liver and onions before admitting that a love affair with beef liver is just not in my future. I did, however, put a full 30% more beef liver in my mouth than Greg did.  His final thought after that final piece of beef liver and a terrible face-twist: “It tastes like a cow smells.”

Our verdict?  It might smell like bacon, but it tastes like liver.  So let’s make pasta for dinner instead.

People who might like “My Children Love Liver”:  People who like extremely soft meat.  People who like liver. People who like to taste the way a cow smells.