My loves – remember my last liver escapade?  I am happy to report that my experimental chicken liver pate turned out much nicer.  So nice that it deserved an overdramatic blog post title.  So nice that I will voluntarily eat it as a snack.  Even Greg admitted that “it is not too bad” and “tastes pretty much like chicken” instead of grossness and manure.  I think it helped that I mixed in a few other organ meats of less distinctive taste, and lots of thyme, onion, garlic, and red wine.   And with a paste, you are not expecting a firm meat texture, so there are no weird texture expectations to battle against.

The one thing you abso-posi-lutely have to do when you make this?  Let it chill in the fridge for a day or two before eating.  It smells disgusting while you’re cooking it, and honestly yes it looks kind of gross when you blend it up, but if you forge ahead determined to have a culinary adventure (or at least cross off New Year’s resolution #12) you will be pleasantly surprised.

I admit, I found this recipe from an unexpected source, too – I bought this book on sourdough bread with my birthday money and, overcome by the sneaky beauty of his food photography, allowed myself to be wooed into trying pate.

(I apologize to the more erudite among you that I cannot figure out how to make the little accent thing above the e happen.  It is confusing me, too.  But I do not refer to chicken heads.  As funny as that would be.)

Oh, what?  You’re ready for the recipe?  My excited bubbling does not entertain you enough?  Well.  I triple dog dare you not to bubble if you end up liking organ meats, too.

Chicken Liver Pate (my take on Tartine Bread’s “Baker’s Foie”)

6 chicken livers (in my case, 4 livers and 2 hearts)
olive oil
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon dried thyme
6 Tbsp. butter at room temperature
1/2 cup red wine
1/2 tsp. salt

Rinse the livers in cold water and remove any visible fat or connective tissue. Heat a heavy skillet over high heat and add enough live oil to coat the bottom. When the oil begins to smoke, carefully add the livers and sear for about 30 seconds. Quickly turn the livers, add the garlic, and sear for about 30 seconds.  Add the thyme and cook for a few seconds until it is aromatic. Remove the pan from the heat and pour off the excess oil and fat.  While the pan is still hot, add 2 Tbsp of the butter and 1/2 c. cognac and deglaze the pan, stirring to loosen any brown bits sticking to the bottom. Transfer the contents of the pan to a food processor and let cool for 8-10 minutes before processing.  Then chill for a day before eating.  Very good with a strong, herb-y bread.

You like? I made these fabulous gloves for Greg! Check one off the list and move on to the next!